My annual year in review, in pictures. 2010 has been nothing short of an amazing adventure. As I look back on it, I am humbled by the kinds of things I’ve been fortunate to experience. Here’s a stroll down the year that was, 2010.

January

How do you forget “the streak” I managed to string together in January which was completed with the naked mile on the 31st of the month. Could 2011 see a repeat of the feat?

Then there was the Hammy Slammy in Hillabammy 50K run. Just a typical Sherpa John fat ass training run amongst friends. I even managed to lose a glove to the snow gods… we won’t get into why.

February

We spent 24 hours on the streets of Boston, MA investigating social justice and how experiential education theory works. Found a place to sleep in Harvard and discovered the sadness that is homelessness in America.

Then I had a little winter camping out in Barrington in preparation for our upcoming trip in the whites. The dance party was the best part and we had an absolute blast!

March

No Power? No Problem! We ran 50K around my town of Epping while jumping over downed power lines, under hanging limbs and then through blinding snow squalls. Epic!

Then it was the backpacking trip to Greely Ponds off the Kancamagus of NH. On a weekend of 50 degree temps, we camped on top of 10 feet of snow, created an amazing snow kitchen, did some x-country skiing and dragged 3 pounds of beef stew into the wilderness. Good times!

The month was completed by heading to Tennessee where I completed a long time dream of running in and finishing one loop at the Barkley Marathons. I survived the loop but not without paying my penance to the ultra/Barkley gods.

April

Three of us ran the Cross Rivendell Trail from Vermont into NH. The 54 Mile run was the first time anyone had run the trail from end to end.

May

If Andy Weinberg is involved, chances are its going to rain. After 60 miles of downpours and the onslaught of Snow, I dropped out of the McNaughton in VT 100 Miler focusing my sights more on the upcoming Grand Slam.

We finished May off with an 8 day backpacking trip around the Eastern Half of the Pemi-Loop in NH’s White Mountains. Along the way the class was able to assist Randy Pierce and his trusty guide dog Quinn along the way. One of the toughest yet more rewarding experiences of my life.

June

I set a personal best on the Pittsfield Peaks 50 Mile course coming in 8th place. One of the best performances of my running career and exceptionally meaningful.
Then after 4 years.. I finally had my chance to run Western States where I finished, got my buckle, then spent a week in Vegas and the Grand Canyon celebrating life.
One thought

Comments are closed.