This past Sunday Night I had the distinct pleasure of being the guest of The Balsams Grand Resort in Dixville Notch, NH. Those who are in the know will tell you that this is where America’s First in the Nation Primary takes place every 4 years and it is also the first location in America to vote on Presidential election day when the entire town does so at Midnight Sharp.

Growing up my entire life in New Hampshire, I’ve been afforded the opportunity to understand how important, and famous, The Ballot Room at the Balsams Grand actually is. Giving a talk in this room, I’d have to say, is my Carnegie Hall of sorts. I get to stand up in a room where many former Presidents have given speeches to the entire nation, and give me own presentation to an intimate group of about 20 people.

As I arrived at the Balsam’s I was pleased to find a poster they had assembled near the concierge that told guests a little bit about my presentation… the who, what, where and why. I didn’t know what to expect. In my head I figured that the hotel would be pretty empty seeing as it’s a Sunday into a Monday Night in the middle of March. But much to my surprise, it was jam packed, so much so that they had two seatings for dinner.

So, I gave my presentation on “Human Potential: Chasing Somedays”which lasted about 45 minutes to a group of about 20. I had a wonderful time with these folks and was glad to hang around and answer questions for some 45 minutes following my talk.

If you ever get a chance to go to the Balsams, the best part of the place is the food… To DIE FOR.

Special thanks to J. Kennedy at the Balsams for having me. I had a wonderful time and it was a pleasure to entertain the guests and be a guest myself.
SJ

